Climate Bonds Initiative is an international, investor-focused not-for-profit. We're the only organisation working solely on mobilising the $100 trillion bond market for climate change solutions. We achieve this through the development of the Climate Bonds Standard and Certification Scheme, Policy Engagement and Market Intelligence work. We empower our Partner organisations with the tools and knowledge needed to navigate, influence, and instigate change.

Green Bonds Market 2021

Cumulative GB Issuance to date
US$1.273tn
2021 Issuance
(aligned with CBI definitions)
$231.7bn
Labelled bonds aligned with CBI definitions of 'Green'
$211.8bn
Labelled green bonds not aligned with CBI definitions (and excluded from 2021 Issuance)
$10.1bn
Jan
$ 22.304bn

Feb
$34.121bn

Mar
$53.777bn

Apr
$26.520bn

May
$34.667bn

Jun
$47.270bn

Jul
$13.003bn

Aug

Sep

Oct

Nov

Dec

2020 TOTAL
[last updated on 30th Apr 2021 ..more information]
$297bn

Subscribe

Blog

What’s it all about? Members of the Brazilian Green Finance Initiative (BGFI) gathered on June 17th...
Report Launch: Analysis of the Sustainable Agriculture Financing Market in Brazil  The Brazilian...
    Investidores internacionais se reúnem para discutir transição verde  Iniciativa Brasileira de...
      From Mexico to Kazakhstan to India: While our staff will not be speaking at physical events...

Subscribe

Climate Bonds Connected

M2Q3FHJ_1wM
-_JkabwYQ9E
Wji1D8auwS8
JsyrH2cHJrs
4GELEyhAGBI
ruXLhpXvhOE
jem2cT9aNTY
hwEEubC_U0U
gn7-6iN9rho
5ZcxWzWVWkw

Tweets

The Market

Tracking the climate-aligned bond market

Standard

Climate Bonds Standard: what qualifies as a green bond

Certification

Certified Climate Bonds & how to get certified

Partnerships

Join our collaborative network

Events

Jul 29, 2021

06:00 NYC / 11:00 / London / 12:00 Paris / 18:00 Beijing

Join PRI head Fiona Reynolds in conversation with IPR's Mark Fulton and Climate Bonds chief Sean Kidney, looking to 2025 and beyond in a unique event with global voices on ESG, climate policy and green investment. 

Aug 5, 2021

10:30 London /11:30 Geneva/ 11:30 Cairo/12:30 Nairobi/16:30 Bangkok/17:30 Beijing/ 18:30 Incheon

Climate Bonds has joined the programme Making Cities Resilient 2030 (MCR2030), a 10-year long initiative to strengthen the resilience of cities around the world.  

This webinar brings together the main organisations supporting cities and municipalities around the world, as well as partners of the MCR2030. We will discuss how the challenges and opportunities for cities to become greener are impacted by the pandemic, and how resilience can set the tone and pace of developing sustainable finance.

Our Partners