The Climate Bonds Standard and Certification Scheme is a labelling scheme for bonds and loans. Rigorous scientific criteria ensure that bonds and loans with Certification, are consistent with the 2 degrees Celsius warming limit in the Paris Agreement. The Scheme is used globally by bond issuers, governments, investors and the financial markets to prioritise investments which genuinely contribute to addressing climate change.


Status: NOT YET AVAILABLE. The Hydropower Criteria will hopefully be ready for use in certifications by the end of 2020. Please contact if you have queries about certification. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why do we need Climate Bonds in Hydropower? What type of hydropower projects can be financed via climate bonds? Click here to read what our most frequently asked questions are regarding the Hydropower Bond Criteria and the Consultation Process. 

Hydropower Criteria 

CBI’s draft Hydropower Criteria provide guidance for developers on ensuring climate change resilience, improving environmental and social sustainability. Projects adhering to the Criteria strengthen their credibility and increase their access to responsible investment options.

Hydropower Criteria Background Paper

In this background paper, learn how the Paris Agreement shaped the Hydropower Criteria to ensure sustainable development, without compromising economic development and access to electricity. The background paper explains how the Hydropower Criteria applies to all types of projects interested in securing responsible financing. 

Hydropower TWG and IWG

The TWG brings together a host of industry, environmental, technical and water experts drawn from international NGOs, government and academia. TWG processes will be conducted through regular meetings and bilateral consultations, organised around evolving draft documents. The Criteria developed by the TWG is reviewed regularly by the Industry Working Group made up of experts from the hydropower industry and financial sphere to ensure their usability for the climate and green bond market. Once developed, Draft Criteria will then be opened for public and industry stakeholder consultation. Feedback will be reviewed before being submitted to the Climate Bonds Standard Board for consideration.

Hydropower Technical Working Group:

Jian-hua Meng
International Water Security Lead

International Hydropower Association
Richard Taylor
Chief Executive Officer

Alliance for Global Water Adaptation
Dr. John Matthews
Secretariat Coordinator

International Institute for Environment and Development
Jamie Skinner
Principle Researcher, Natural Resources Group & team leader, water

Water and Power Law Group PC
Richard Roos-Collins

Norwegian Ministry of Petroleum and Energy
Oivind Johansen
Deputy Director

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
Mattia Celio
Program manager

National Planning Commission, South Africa
Mike Muller

IUCN Global Water Programme
Dr James Dalton
Coordinator Global Water Initiatives

Great Rivers Partnership, TNC
David Harrison
Senior Advisor and Consultant

Christine Lins
Executive Secretary

International Hydropower Association (IHA)
Cameron Ironside
Sustainability Director



Independent Consultant
Joerg Hartmann

UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education
Miroslav Marence
Associate Professor in Storage and Hydropower

Jorge Gastelumendi
Senior Policy Advisor
TWG Observers   Technical Consultant  

World Bank Group
Pravin Karki
Senior Hydropower Specialist
Energy & Extractives Global Practice

World Bank Group
Diego Rodriguez
Senior Economist

Climate Bonds Initiative
Helen Jackson
Environmental Economist



Hydropower Industry Working Group (IWG):

Amec Foster Wheeler, Dr Murray C. Simpson Brookfield Renewable, Antonio Fonseca dos Santo
CECEP, Wenqin Lu  Citi, Courtney Lowrance
Contact Energy, Kaapua Smith EBRD, Christian Carraretto
EDF, Alexander Marty and Jean Copreaux Eletrobras, Pedro Luiz de Oliveira Jatoba
FMASE, Gil Maranhão Philipp Hauser Hindustan Electric Power, Awadh B Giri
Hydro Tasmania, Alex Beckitt J.P. Morgan, Charles Gooderham
M&G Investment, David Kemp M&G Investment, David Kemp
Mott McDonald, Bruno Trouille National Australia Bank, David Jenkins
DNV-GL, Mark Robinson Emergent Ventures, Atul Sanghal
ERM, Duncan Russell EY, Pip Best and Judy Li
Kestrel Consulting, Monica Reid China Lianhe Equator Environmental Impact Assessment, Jingyun Liu
PwC, David Greenall S&P Trucost, Derek Ip
TUV Nord, Tahsin Choudhury Zhongcai Green Finance, Yang Yao  


"The Climate Bonds Standard Board operates legally as an advisory committee of the Climate Bonds Initiative Board and oversees the development of the Climate Bonds Standard. Neither the Climate Bonds Standard Board nor any organisation, individual or other person forming part of, or representing, the Climate Bonds Standard Board (together, "CBSB") accepts or owes any duty, liability or responsibility of any kind whatsoever to any issuer which wishes to apply for any of its bonds to be certified under the Climate Bonds Certification Scheme ("Scheme"), or to any issuer whose bonds may at any time be certified under the Scheme or to any other person or body whatsoever, whether with respect to the award or withdrawal of any certification under the Scheme or otherwise. All advice or recommendations with respect to any certification under the Scheme or otherwise that CBSB provides to the Climate Bonds Initiative Board is provided to it in an advisory capacity only and is not to be treated as provided or offered to any other person”