Latest Developments

  • The Climate Bonds Initiative has launched a Hydropower Technical working Group (TWG) to assess and develop Criteria for climate-friendly investment in the sector.
  • The Hydropower TWG commenced with its initial meeting on June 21st 2016.
  • The TWG launch announcement can be found here. 
  • The Hydropower Industry Working Group (IWG) was convened and had their first meeting on 5th July 2017. 


The Hydropower Technical Criteria aims to be able to identify and monitor hydropower investments which deliver climate mitigation benefits and/or incorporates adaptation and resilience impacts.

The IPCC classifies hydropower into three main categories; run-of-river, storage (reservoir) and pumped storage hydropower. In addition, in-stream technologies (new and less developed) can be added as a fourth category.

Hydropower will play an important role in the transition to a low carbon economy. It has significant energy storage potential and is an established renewable source.  Hydropower was initially a sub-sector under consideration by the water group, but given both the complexities and sensitivities of hydropower investments, it was decided to address it under a separate expert group. The increase in inquiries regarding the potential development of Hydropower Criteria, along with the prospect of further large-scale hydro development, also led to this decision to create a separate expert group.

Find out more

To find out more, provide support for The Climate Bonds Initiative or to receive relevant discussion papers when released please contact justine@climatebonds.net or isobel.edwards@climatebonds.net.


The Hydropower TWG – What’s involved?

The TWG brings together a host of industry, environmental, technical and water experts drawn from international NGOs, government and academia. TWG processes will be conducted through regular meetings and bilateral consultations, organised around evolving draft documents. Once developed, Draft Criteria will then be opened for public and industry stakeholder consultation. Feedback will be reviewed before being submitted to the Climate Bonds Standard Board for consideration.

The Hydropower Technical Working Group members include:

Jian-hua Meng
International Water Security Lead

International Hydropower Association
Richard Taylor
Chief Executive Officer

Alliance for Global Water Adaptation
Dr. John Matthews
Secretariat Coordinator

International Institute for Environment and Development
Jamie Skinner
Principle Researcher, Natural Resources Group
& team leader, water

Water and Power Law Group PC
Richard Roos-Collins

Norwegian Ministry of Petroleum and Energy
Oivind Johansen
Deputy Director

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
Mattia Celio
Program manager

National Planning Commission, South Africa
Mike Muller

IUCN Global Water Programme
Dr James Dalton
Coordinator Global Water Initiatives

Great Rivers Partnership, TNC
David Harrison
Senior Advisor and Consultant

Christine Lins
Executive Secretary

International Hydropower Association (IHA)
Cameron Ironside
Sustainability Director



Independent Consultant
Joerg Hartmann

UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education
Miroslav Marence
Associate Professor in Storage and Hydropower

Jorge Gastelumendi
Senior Policy Advisor
TWG Observers   Technical Consultant  

World Bank Group
Pravin Karki
Senior Hydropower Specialist
Energy & Extractives Global Practice

World Bank Group
Diego Rodriguez
Senior Economist

Climate Bonds Initiative
Helen Jackson
Environmental Economist



Hydro Industry Working Group (IWG)

The Hydropower Industry Working Group members include:

Amec Foster Wheeler, Dr Murray C. Simpson Brookfield Renewable, Antonio Fonseca dos Santos
China Energy Conservation and Environmental Protection, Wenqin Lu Citi, Courtney Lowrance
Contact Energy, Kaapua Smith European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), Christian Carraretto
EDF, Alexander Marty and Jean Copreaux Eletrobras, Pedro Luiz de Oliveira Jatoba
FMASE, Gil Maranhão Philipp Hauser Hindustan Electric Power, Awadh B Giri
Hydro Tasmania, Alex Beckitt J.P. Morgan, Charles Gooderham
M&G Investment, David Kemp M&G Investment, David Kemp
Mott McDonald, Bruno Trouille National Australia Bank, David Jenkins
DNV-GL, Mark Robinson Emergent Ventures, Atul Sanghal
ERM, Duncan Russell EY, Pip Best and Judy Li
Kestrel Consulting, Monica Reid China Lianhe Equator Environmental Impact Assessment, Jingyun Liu
PwC, David Greenall S&P Trucost, Derek Ip
TUV Nord, Tahsin Choudhury Zhongcai Green Finance, Yang Yao  



"The Climate Bonds Standard Board operates legally as an advisory committee of the Climate Bonds Initiative Board and oversees the development of the Climate Bonds Standard. Neither the Climate Bonds Standard Board nor any organisation, individual or other person forming part of, or representing, the Climate Bonds Standard Board (together, "CBSB") accepts or owes any duty, liability or responsibility of any kind whatsoever to any issuer which wishes to apply for any of its bonds to be certified under the Climate Bonds Certification Scheme ("Scheme"), or to any issuer whose bonds may at any time be certified under the Scheme or to any other person or body whatsoever, whether with respect to the award or withdrawal of any certification under the Scheme or otherwise. All advice or recommendations with respect to any certification under the Scheme or otherwise that CBSB provides to the Climate Bonds Initiative Board is provided to it in an advisory capacity only and is not to be treated as provided or offered to any other person”