Driving Change: Winners of the 9th Climate Bonds Awards


Climate Bonds Initiative is proud to announce the winners of the 9th Climate Bonds Awards, celebrating top achievers in sustainable finance for 2023. This event acknowledges the contributions of emerging markets, financial institutions, and governments that have been instrumental in advancing the market over the past year. 


Since 2016, Climate Bonds Initiative has awarded over 235 organisations, financial institutions, and governments that have demonstrated leadership through financing climate-resilient and low-carbon projects across a wide range of industries and economic sectors. This year’s categories include Leadership Amongst Sovereign Bonds Issuers, Social and Sustainable Debt Instrument, and Green Debt Instrument. 

By the end of 2023, Climate Bonds had recorded USD5.5tn of cumulative green, social, sustainability, and sustainability-linked (GSS+) debt volume, of which USD4.4tn (80%) was found to be aligned with Climate Bonds’ rigorous methodologies. The significant volume of GSS+ debt highlights the rapid expansion and increasing relevance of sustainable finance in addressing global climate challenges. 

Sean Kidney, CEO and Founder of Climate Bonds Initiative, remarked, “Today’s awards celebrate the extraordinary progress we’ve made in green, social, and sustainable finance. The market has grown over 100 times in the last decade, to over USD4 trillion. But this is just a start; we still have to halve our emissions by 2030, and prepare for the climate impacts we are starting to experience. The winners today are driving change and inspiring others.” 

This year's ceremony marks the 9th year of the Awards and was streamed on the Climate Bonds YouTube channel. Join us in celebrating the outstanding contributions of our winners who continue to push the boundaries of sustainable finance and lead the change towards a greener, more resilient future. 

Issuer/Entity name 

Award title 

Australia & New Zealand Banking Group  

Largest Financial Corporate Sustainability Bond of 2023 

Bank of Communications 

Largest Financial Corporate Green Bond of 2023 

Queensland Treasury Corporation 

Largest Certified Climate Bond in 2023 


Largest Issuer of Social Bonds 2023 & Largest Social Bond of 2023 


Largest External Review Provider in Number of Deals of 2023 

Morningstar Sustainalytics 

Largest External Review Provider in Number of Deals of 2023 & Largest Verifier of 2023 


Largest Financial Corporate Social Bond of 2023 

NEOM Green Hydrogen Company 

Green Market Pioneer 

Shanghai Pudong Development Bank  

Green Market Pioneer 

IBRD World Bank 

Largest Sustainability Bond of 2023 

European Investment Bank  

Largest Development Bank Green Bond of 2023 

The Republic of Italy 

Largest Green Bond of 2023 

Mexico Government 

Largest Issuer of Sustainability Bonds of 2023 

CCCFA – California Community Choice Financing Authority 

Largest US Green Municipal Issuer of 2023 

Northland Power  

Largest Non-Financial Corporate Green Bond in 2023 

New York City Housing Development Corporation 

Largest US Social Sustainability Municipal Issuer of 2023 


Green Market Pioneer 

Majid Al Futtaim  

Largest Green Sukuk in 2023 

Chile Government 

Largest Sustainability-Linked Bond of 2023 

Fannie Mae 

Largest Green Asset-Backed Security Issuer of 2023 


The Green Catalyst Award for Financing Decarbonisation in Hard-to-Abate Sectors 


Private Investment Mobiliser Award 


The Just Transition Trailblazer Award 


Strongest Effort in Integrated Transition Policy Award  


The Resilience Financing Pioneer Award 


The Financing Ambitious NDC Award 

2016 – 2023 Climate Bonds Awards:  

Additional details of 2016 Inaugural Award recipients are here 

Additional details of 2017 Award recipients are here. 

Additional details of 2018 Award recipients are here 

Additional details of 2019 Award recipients are here. 

Additional details of 2020 Award recipients are here. 

Additional details of 2021 Award recipients are here. 

Additional details of 2022 Award recipients are here 

Additional details of 2023 Award recipients are here