Philippines: Green Infrastructure Investment Opportunities (GIIO) Report Launch

Event date: 
Nov 26, 2020
Event time: 
3:00 PM Manila & Singapore / 4:00 PM Tokyo / 6:00 PM Sydney

 

The role of infrastructure in the Philippines is critical to promoting sustainable economic growth, improving regional connectivity, and achieving low-carbon climate solutions in the country.

The Philippines is one of the most vulnerable countries to climate change, due to its high exposure to natural hazards, dependence on climate-sensitive natural resources, and vast coastlines. The significant scaling-up of investment in green infrastructure is critical for the Philippines to meet its climate commitments, build resilience to the impacts of climate change and achieve rapid economic development.

 

With this backdrop, the Climate Bonds Initiative, in partnership with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Philippines and the Asian Development Bank (ADB) is launching the Green Infrastructure Investment Opportunities (GIIO) Philippines report. The report aims to highlight green investment opportunities in the Philippines and to support the country’s transition to a low carbon economy.  It aims to facilitate greater engagement on this topic between project owners and developers, and institutional investors. Green infrastructure and corresponding green finance instruments are explored in the report, with sector-by-sector investment options presented.  

The report will be launched virtually on Thursday, November 26th 2020, 3 – 4:15 PM Manila time and will include a presentation of the report findings, a panel discussion and time for Q&A.

 

Event sponsors: 
Climate Bonds Initiative (CBI)
Securities and Exchange Commission