COVID19 & Green Bond Market

Event date: 
Oct 22, 2020
Event time: 
07:00 New York/ 12:00 London / 13:00 Paris
Join us & discover our findings on how the COVID-19 pandemic has affected the green bond market.
Thursday, October 22nd 07:00 New York/ 12:00 London / 13:00 Paris. 

Speakers:

- Krista Tukiainen, Head of Research and Reporting - Market Intelligence, Climate Bonds Initiative
- Julie Becker, Deputy CEO, LuxSE
- Jeroen Verleun, Senior Investment Manager External Management, PGGM

Moderator: Sean Kidney, CEO, Climate Bonds Initiative

In response to the rising interest in sustainable finance accentuated by the COVID-19 pandemic, Climate Bonds published an interim report as of the first half (H1) of 2020. 

Part of the Global State of the Market series, this new report goes beyond previous similar reports, including the recently launched Green Bonds Global State of the Market 2019, which have primarily focused on analysing the green bond market. 

The first part of the report overviews green bonds issuance in H1 2020. 

It also contains first-ever historic analysis by Climate Bonds of other debt themes – sustainability, social and pandemic bonds – covering the period up to H1 2020. 

This represents an initial step in the expansion of Climate Bonds’ market data coverage & commentary to include other debt labels, which will culminate in the launch of a separate social and sustainability bond database in late Oct/Nov. 

The second part of the report presents a detailed global overview of existing, planned, potential measures related to sustainable finance. 

These frame the development universe for diverse set of stakeholders, from governments to central banks and investors, with an underlying them around the need for a green and sustainable recovery globally in a post-COVID world.

Event sponsors: 
Climate Bonds Initiative (CBI)
Event speakers: 
Jeroen Verleun
Julie Becker
Krista Tukiainen
Sean Kidney