The Climate Bonds Standard is a screening tool for investors and governments which allows them to easily prioritize climate and green bonds with confidence that the funds are being used to deliver climate change solutions.

Read More


Public consultation period for the bioenergy eligibility criteria is now closed.

Thank you for submitting your comments. The Bioenergy Technical Working Group will reconvene to review the draft proposal and address comments from the public. The criteria will be then submitted to the Climate Bonds Standards Board for approval.


Bioenergy – renewable energy made available from materials derived from biological sources such as wood, manure or any other agricultural byproducts – has the potential to significantly contribute to reduction of greenhouse gas emissions globally. The International Energy Agency (IEA) tells us that biofuels could provide 27% of total transport fuel and in particular contribute to the replacement of diesel, kerosene and jet fuel.

The proposed criteria states that bioenergy projects applying for certification need to be certified under one of the following standards: Roundtable for Sustainable Biomaterial (RSB), Round Table Responsible Soy (RTRS), Roundtable for Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO), Bonsucro and FSC (Forest Stewardship Council).  Additionally, at least 60% reduction in emissions comparing with local baselines must be demonstrated for biofuel projects and at least 70% for solid biomass projects. See full criteria here.

Eligibility criteria for certified Climate bonds linked to liquid biofuels and biogas

Eligibility criteria for certified Climate Bonds linked to (wood based) solid biomass applications


Download the background paper to eligibility criteria 

Members of the Bioenergy Technical Working Group:

  • Dr. Ausilio Bauen, Director, E4 Tech consultancy
  • Dr. Aziz Elbehri, Senior Economist, Food & Agriculture Organisation (FAO)
  • Barbara Bramble, Senior Director for International Wildlife Conservation, National Wildlife Federation
  • Dr. Birka Wicke, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development (Faculty of Geosciences) , Utrecht University
  • Jack (John) N. Saddler, Department of Wood Science, University of British Columbia
  • László Máthé, Independent consultant
  • Dr. Molly Jahn, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Uwe R. Fritsche, International Institute for Sustainability Analysis and Strategy (IINAS)
  • Shay Reza, Co-Founder, Arise International

Industry working group:

  • Luc Pelkmans, VITO
  • Richard Mills, Strategy Director for the UK and Ireland, Boeing UK
  • Hans Biemans, Rabobank